Sunday, October 19, 2014

Magic Hat Wilhelm Scream Pumpkin Ale


3.3
   AROMA 6/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 6/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 13/20
Chad9976 (1200) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 19, 2014
I remember when Magic Hat used to be an innovative brewery that took chances and made a lot of experimental, eccentric brews. They’ve been bought and sold a few times in the last few years and it seems the new ownership prefers mass market appeal rather than appeasing true craft beer enthusiasts. Their new pumpkin ale – Wilhelm Scream – is proof of this. While not a bad beer, it’s just plain average.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a mug. It appeared to have an expiration date of 12/10/14 and cost $2.50 ($0.21 per ounce).

Appearance: Pretty amber hue, fairly dark but still transparent with visible carbonation. Pours to a two-finger, beige, foamy head which laces and retains fairly well.

Smell: Generic candle-like aroma with strong nutmeg scent. No pumpkin notes.

Taste: This beer might be more accurately classified as an amber ale with spices added rather than a true pumpkin beer. The malts actually seem to dominate the palette here – caramel and Victory specialty malts make for a light sweetness with two-row laying a familiar base. The cinnamon is subtle, but the nutmeg is prominent. It creates for an almost minty flavor. There doesn’t seem to be any actual pumpkin flavor, though (pie, puree, or otherwise). Light dry bitterness accentuates the spices nicely, though this isn’t a beer you drink for the hops. As a consumer product, it accomplishes what it set out to do, but as a beer it’s only okay.

Drinkability: While this beer may not be all that exciting, it is in no way a struggle to drink. The mouthfeel is thin, with a light, consistent crispness. The spices linger momentarily, but fade away after each swig so as not to be cloying. At only 5.4% ABV, Magic Hat Wilhelm Scream is a fine beer to have one on a Sunday afternoon while watching football, but still too heavy (and boring) to session. 
Grade: 6/10

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Original Flag Porter (2014 re-review)


3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1199) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 16, 2014
I should disclaim this review by pointing out that I’m not exactly sure how old this bottle is since the freshness code is not written in easy-to-read plain text. Though if this bottle is as old as I think it is, it’s still pretty impressive that this beer was able to hold up this well for over two years. Original Flag Porter is pretty much the epitome of a British porter, despite the fact the yeast used to ferment it was found in a sunken ship from 1825 and the recipe dates back to 1850.

I poured an 11.2oz bottle into a mug. I appears to have been bottled on 8/23/12 and cost $4 ($0.36 per ounce).

Appearance: Seemingly black color, but actually a deep shade of ruby chestnut with highlights to match. Pours to a small, white, foamy head which mostly dissipates but leaves some lacing.

Smell: Sweet dark malts, classic English pub style aroma, mild overall.

Taste: What separates porter from stout is the difference in roastiness and sweetness. Original Flag Porter opts for sweetness, as the dark malts create for a slightly fruity taste with notes of chocolate and dairy. In fact, it has the same character often found in milk stouts from their use of lactose sugar (it’s possible that was used in this brew, but I’m not sure). In fact, the taste reminds me a bit of cola soda, with a hint of coconut, too (but without the sickly sweetness). Just a touch of bitterness on the back end, which I can’t tell is hops or roasted malts (probably both, but mild enough to work as a background ingredient). I’m inclined to believe this beer would be much more complex and flavorful when fresh, but as it stands it’s still pretty good.

Drinkability: Pub-style brews such as this are meant to be easy to quaff and in mass quantities. Original Flag Porter has a thin, lightly carbonated mouthfeel so as to make it gentle on the palate and maybe even refreshing for a moment or two. At 5% ABV it drinks like something even more overtly sessionable, and with the clean finish I could certainly see it working in that capacity. 
Grade: 7/10
Watch my 2010 original review here:

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Dinkelacker Oktoberfestbier Marzen


3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1198) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 15, 2014
We don’t get too many authentic German Oktoberfestbiers around these parts, and those that we do get I’ve already reviewed. Dinkelacker Marzen is a new addition to my beer store, so naturally I picked it up to give it a try. As far as I can tell it’s an exactly-to-spec representation of the style, though there’s nothing especially unique or memorable about it. You want a Marzen, you got one with this.

I poured an 11.2oz bottle into a mug. It appears to have been bottled on 6/30/14 and cost $2.85 ($0.24 per ounce).

Appearance: Beautiful copper color, crystal clear with carbonation visible. Pours to a two-finger, off-white, foamy head which mostly dissipates and leaves no lacing, though.

Smell: Classic German lager aroma; lightly sweet with bready notes.

Taste: The first thing I noticed about Dinkelacker Marzen is how inoffensive the palate is. Oftentimes, old beer from overseas tends to have a tang or off-flavor to the palette, but this tastes fresh. As far as actual flavors go, there isn’t a lot in the way of distinctiveness. I do, however, get a general dark malty sensation. Light notes of bread or toast, but not caramel or toffee sweetness per se. Perhaps a hint of nuttiness and a mineral character on the finish, which is nice. Hops are extremely subtle here, providing just a background bitterness. Overall, it’s just a fine-tasting beer you don’t have to think about (which is probably the goal).

Drinkability: Beers of this style were meant to be sessioned, even though they exceed the threshold for what is generally considered sessionable as far as ABV. At 5.7% ABV, Dinkelacker Marzen is neither a lightweight nor a heavyweight, but falls right in the middle and it certainly drinks as such. Actually, it drinks like a lighter beer as far as delivery goes; the mouthfeel is thin and crisp and the beer is quite refreshing while crossing the tongue. It leaves a clean aftertaste and doesn’t fill me up, so it has the performance value you want in a Marzen. 
Grade: 7/10

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Geary's Autumn Ale


3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1197) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 14, 2014
It seems like a lot of American breweries are abandoning the traditional Brown Ale, which is a shame, because it’s a great style when done right. Geary’s Autumn Ale is, for the most part, brewed in the traditional English way (though I think that’s true of most of their beers). I do detect some American character as far as hops go, which is interesting. For a “standard” beer in more ways than one, this it as least satisfying.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a nonic pint glass. There was no freshness date and it cost $2.65 ($0.22 per ounce).

Appearance: Beautiful mahogany hue, transparent with spastic carbonation visible. Pours to an average-sized, off-white, foamy head which retains and laces well.

Smell: Sweet malty nose with significant floral component.

Taste: Brown Ales are often malt bombs, though Geary’s Autumn Ale seems to opt for balance. There is a strong malt presence here that cannot be ignored, that’s for sure. Light notes of toffee and a general nutty character are noticeable right away. There’s also some flowery hops, maybe even a bit citrusy – which isn’t a quality often found in English brown ales. Some crisp bitterness at the apex with a hint of chocolate on the finish. I also detect some kind of astringency and a tanginess in the aftertaste, which seems out of place, but is easily ignored for the most part. Regardless, it’s at the very least decent.

Drinkability: The palette to this beer may not be extremely complex and flavorful, but getting through a glass of Geary’s Autumn Ale is at least easy. The mouthfeel is rather thin, very crisp and well carbonated, and goes down smooth. At 5.8% ABV it feels like a much lighter brew than it is, though it’d probably be an ideal choice to pair with a meal so as not to overwhelm the palate (or the drinker). 
Grade: 7/10

Announcing “The Handbook of Porters & Stouts”

HandbookOfPortersAndStoutsI’ve had a lot of fun and memorable experiences since I started beer blogging six years ago. Being asked to contribute to the Times Union “Beer Nut” blog was, until now, probably my biggest accomplishment. I’m not sure if this announcement supersedes it, but it’s close: on November 11, 2014, my first book about beer will go on sale. It’s called The Handbook of Porters & Stouts, a compendium of over 400 beer reviews written by myself and co-author Josh Christie (a few other writers contributed some reviews, as well).

This was a project well over a year in the making, and it certainly shows by the quality of the finished product. I can’t take credit for the design and organization of the book, though, that’s all the work of my editor Carlo DeVito and the good people at Cider Mill Press. Whether you concur with our reviews of these beers or not, I think you will agree that this is one of the best-looking beer books you’ll ever see. That’s the feedback I’ve been getting from people who have been privy to see my advanced copy.

The sub-title of the book is “The Ultimate, Complete and Definitive Guide,” and while that may sound hyperbolic, it absolutely is true. I challenge anyone to find a more comprehensive collection of reviews, analysis, and backstory dedicated exclusively to the parents of dark beer styles.

Check out this 30-second promotional video for the book:


The book is broken up in three major sections; porters, stouts, and 30 recommended “extreme beers” that blur style lines (including some Black IPAs, “white” stouts, sour dark beers, and miscellaneous “culinary” stouts). The porter and stout sections are then sub-divided by major style groupings, such as Baltic Porter, Coffee Stouts, Chocolate Stouts, etc. I’m pretty sure we covered just about everything.

As I said, the book was co-authored by Josh Christie, a fellow beer blogger and author out of Portland, Maine. Josh previously penned Maine Beer: Brewing in Vacationland  – a guide to the Maine craft beer scene as well as the history of brewing in that state (did you know Maine’s temperance movement began nearly a half-century before the passage of the 18th Amendment?). I met Josh a few months ago when I went on my New England beercation, he’s a great guy. I’m hoping to conduct an interview with him sometime in the near future, so keep an eye out for that.
darkloarddarkness
The introduction was written by Stephen Beaumont, an accomplished author who has written over a dozen books about beer. The “Special Tasting Section” was penned by Joshua M. Bernstein, who wrote The Complete Beer Course: Boot Camp for Beer Geeks: From Novice to Expert in Twelve Tasting Classes (a book which, in my opinion, rivals Randy Mosher’s “Tasting Beer”).
I’m really excited about this book, and especially about the opportunities this will likely lead to. I’ve already started setting up book signings and other promotional events, including a beer dinner I’ll be hosting at Uncle Marty’s Adirondack Grill next week. I hope people will enjoy reading this book it as much as I enjoyed writing it!Dedication

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Brown’s Cherry Raspberry Ale (aka "Cherry Razz")


3.6
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1196) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 12, 2014
Brown’s has been making their Cherry Raspberry Ale for years, and I’ve had it on tap many times. I’ve never given it a formal review until now as it was difficult (and expensive) to buy before the recent opening of their new production brewery (everything had been bottled manually in the basement of their taproom until now). This bottle replicates the tap experience quite well, as this is indeed a fun fruit beer to drink.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a mason jar. There was no freshness date and it cost $2.60 ($0.22 per ounce).

Appearance: Pretty magenta/light brown hue, translucent. Pours to a small, off-white, soapy head which mostly dissipates and leave no lacing.

Smell: Jam-like aroma of red cherry and raspberries.

Taste: The thing about fruit beers is that they’re kind of the beer equivalent of alcopops since the fruit character tends to override the base brew (though that’s true of traditional lambics, too). In the case of Brown’s Cherry Raspberry Ale it’s a beer that delivers as the name suggests: plenty of cherry/raspberry sweetness and that’s about it. Slightly tart at first, but becomes a little richer-tasting towards the end. It’s probably made with puree rather than whole fruit, and it certainly tastes that way. There’s no soda-like quality of artificial/chemical flavoring here. The base brew appears to be something in the amber or brown ale styles, as there’s a light bready character here. The hops are faint if they are noticeable at all. While not quite as delicious as some of the better examples of the genre, this one is still pretty enjoyable.

Drinkability: Getting down a glass of Brown’s Cherry Raspberry Ale is no challenge whatsoever (not that it should be, though). The mouthfeel is thin and calm with a smooth texture and finish to match. It leaves a mostly clean aftertaste, which is a tad disappointing as these are the kinds of flavors you’d prefer to linger. At 6.5% ABV it’s seems rather inefficient as this beer drinks like something in the more overtly sessionable range. I’d expect a little more robustness and complexity to a brew this strong. Regardless, it works fine as a liquid dessert or standalone beverage (or blend it with their oatmeal stout for an interesting experience). 
Grade: 7/10

Saturday, October 11, 2014

Foster's Premium Ale


2.6
   AROMA 5/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 4/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 11/20
Chad9976 (1195) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 11, 2014
Foster’s is one of the most popular macro beer brands in the world, though they’re known mostly for one beer (their lager). Lest we forget, they also make their “Premium Ale” that comes in a green can. This is allegedly an English-style pale ale, but it has so many similarities to that of an adjunct lager it’s actually quite impressive they were able to brew it this way. That being said, it’s most definitely not a good beer – little authentic taste, some off-flavors, and an inefficient body.


I poured a 750ml can into a mug. It had a best before date of 2/5/15 and cost $2.19 ($0.09 per ounce).

Appearance: Beautiful copper color (though this is due to added caramel coloring); completely transparent with spastic carbonation clearly visible. Pours to a small, ivory, soapy head which mostly dissipates and leaves no lacing on the glass.

Smell: Similar to an adjunct lager, though milder and slightly cleaner-smelling.

Taste: I actually made a point of drinking this beer a little warmer than I normally would in hopes of detecting all the flavor it had to offer. And indeed there’s more flavor to Foster’s Premium Ale than their usual lager. Just a faint hint of bready/biscuity malts and a touch of confectionery sweetness is apparent throughout the first half. Once it hits the apex, an astringent, tannic sensation of metal-like flavors come rushing in. The same thing happens with their lager, but to a lesser extent here. It has a slight sour tinge, and leaves a dry, starchy aftertaste. The more I drink, the less prominent it becomes, though that’s not a sign of a good beer. I can tolerate this, as much drinkers probably will, but there isn’t much to enjoy. (NOTE: I can’t help but wonder if this is brewed with a pale ale recipe and fermented with a lager yeast)

Drinkability: A beer like this is meant to be quaffable, and that’s true of Foster’s Premium Ale. However, drinkability and enjoyment are not the same thing. The mouthfeel is, not surprisingly, thin and fizzy. There’s a slickness to the texture while in the mouth, and the pasty aftertaste is not that pleasant (though it’s not that annoying). At 5.5% ABV, there should be much more flavor and body to this beer than there is, though I’d imagine the average Foster’s drinker will have no difficulty sessioning it. 
Grade: 3/10

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Jack’s Abby Copper Legend


3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Chad9976 (1194) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 9, 2014
Jack’s Abby is a brewery that specializes in making ale styles as lagers, so you’d think they’d be able to knock a traditional lager style out of the park. Their “Copper Legend” is their take on the Oktoberfest/Marzen style, though it drinks more like some kind amber lager. It tastes and drink fine, but it’s not all that true to the style.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a mug. There was no freshness date. It cost $2.45 ($0.20 per ounce).

Appearance: Bright amber/yellow hue. Sparse carbonation visible. Pours to a small, off-white, soapy head which dissipates and leaves no lacing.

Smell: Mild nose overall with faint hints of light malty sweetness.

Taste: The first thing I notice about Jack’s Abby Copper Legend is how sweet it is. A rich, honey-like flavor jumps out right away. There’s a slight graham cracker flavor that adds another component to this sweet palette. Biscuity malts are quite present as well, giving the beer an English character rather than something German. Usually, Oktoberfest brews have toffee and caramel, but they aren’t present here. There is a distinct hop presence throughout due to the use of Noble hops. Surprisingly citrusy rather than spicy or dry. This isn’t what you expect from the style, though the uniqueness is commendable.

Drinkability: For a lager, this beer has the mouthfeel and body of an ale (though that’s true of a lot of Jack’s Abby beers). Copper Legend is only moderately carbonated, so there’s a slightly thicker viscosity to the beer than most of the style. It’s not crisp and effervescent, though it is smooth. It probably could have a little more robustness for 5.7% ABV, though it feels like a much lighter beer than it is. It’s tempting to throw back several of these on a Sunday afternoon while watching football. 
Grade: 7/10

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Sixpoint Sensi Harvest


3.7
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 3/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 15/20
Chad9976 (1193) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 7, 2014
Yet another brewery has hopped onto the “Session IPA” bandwagon, but in the case of Sixpoint Sensi Harvest it’s a wet hop edition – that’s not something that’s been done before (as far as I know). So this beer is commendable for being something of a trailblazer, though at the end of the day it’s just another solid session IPA.

I poured a 12oz can into a tulip glass. It had a best before date of 12/17/14 and cost $3.15 ($0.26 per ounce).

Appearance: Surprisingly clear golden hue. Little carbonation visible. Pours to a small, white, soapy head that mostly dissipates and leaves little lacing.

Smell: Strong hop aroma, especially of spicy/earthy/vegetal types.

Taste: From the first sip, it’s clear that the palette to Sixpoint Sensi Harvest is pretty familiar. The hops are clearly of the zesty varieties that are en vogue these days. Right away I get notes of basil, garlic, onion, and pine needles. These all re-emerge on the finish, only stronger. There’s a nice consistent bitterness as well. It’s perfectly balanced so that the hops impart taste, but strong enough that you get the bitterness you expect (and want) in an IPA. The malt character is a little lacking, though. That’s not surprising considering the style, though I’d prefer more than just a subtle amber/honey character. This isn’t the kind of beer you buy for balance, so it’s forgivable.

Drinkability: At only 4.7% ABV, it’s no surprise that Sixpoint Sensi Harvest is overtly light-bodied. And while there’s plenty of flavor here, the actual delivery is a bit underwhelming. The mouthfeel is thin and slightly watery as it appears to be undercarbonated (this should be crisp like a pilsner). Still, it’s refreshing while in the mouth, and the aftertaste is fairly clean. It would work as a session beer, though I’d prefer this during the summer months rather than the autumn. 
Grade: 7/10

Monday, October 6, 2014

Chatham Porter


3.9
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Chad9976 (1192) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 6, 2014
While every brewery is trying to re-invent the wheel, Chatham Brewing tends to stick to classic styles brewed using traditional recipes. Their porter is a good example of this: a solid, to-spec, porter that has plenty of flavor and is easy to drink. That’s what I consider a good beer.

I poured a 16oz growler into a tulip glass.

Appearance: Pitch black in color with just the faintest brownish/red highlights. Pours to a two-finger, brown, frothy head which retains and laces well.

Smell: Sweet dark malts with notes of toast, milk chocolate and dairy.

Taste: Porters aren’t intended to be exploding with flavor, they’re meant to be flavorful, easy-drinking beers, and that’s what you get with Chatham Porter. Up front there’s a sweetness derived from the dark malt; notes of milk chocolate, cherry, and a sweetness akin to lactose (though this is not brewed with lactose sugar as far as I know). It has almost a cola flavor, as well (Dr. Pepper to be exact). The roasted malt comes alive on the back end, while the hops lurk in the background throughout. An interesting, classic palette anyone can enjoy.

Drinkability: Weighing in at 6% ABV, Chatham Porter is a little heavy for the style. Though it’s in no way a thick, heavy beer per se. The mouthfeel is thinner than you’d think, with a silky texture and ridiculously smooth finish. There’s a mild dry aftertaste from the dark malt, though it’s easily tolerated. A versatile palette – this beer will pair with a savory meal or dessert (or as dessert). 
Grade: 8/10

Friday, October 3, 2014

Green Wolf Abbey Gargoyle


3.5
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 3/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1191) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 3, 2014
If you’re an American startup brewery and you’re going to make a Belgian-style beer you’d better make it exactly to spec or else do something experimental to make it interesting. Green Wolf’s “Abbey Gargoyle” is a Belgian-style dubbel, but it is not to spec. That being said, it’s still a solid beer that could be much better with a few improvements.

I poured a 22oz bottle into a tulip glass. There was no freshness date and it cost $9 ($0.41 per ounce).

Appearance: Raspberry tea complexion of a reddish/brown hue over and opaque body. Pours to a small, off-white, foamy head which laces and retains fairly well.

Smell: Mild nose but standard Belgian aroma of banana and clove.

Taste: I am genuinely impressed, and surprised, by the malt flavor that comes through in this palette. A sweetness of dark grain that’s accentuated by the Belgian yeast character. A mélange of dark fruit is noticeable throughout the first half, though no individual, distinct flavors seem to jump out other than a slight cherry note. The second half is much better, though, as the esters begin to take over. There’s a noticeably banana taste along with a general spicy/smoky character (usually this indicates yeast stress). The problem is, this all fades away quickly, which is a shame because it’s rather enjoyable. While not exactly a to-spec dubbel, this beer makes a decent effort at least.

Drinkability: When I drink an 8.5% ABV beer, I expect complexity and robustness and I hope for easy drinkability. Green Wolf Abbey Gargoyle is at least easy to drink, but lacks the body that ought to come with a beer of its size. The mouthfeel is rather thin and under carbonated, though not flat and watery per se. It’s actually rather refreshing while it crosses the tongue, though there’s a dry bitter sensation that lingers (but it’s not bothersome). For what it’s worth, I had no problem drinking the entire bottle myself. 
Grade: 6/10

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Wachusett Larry Imperial IPA


3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
Chad9976 (1190) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 2, 2014
It seems like most breweries try to make their double/imperial IPAs as light in body as possible. There aren’t that many that take the big body/sticky mouthfeel approach anymore. Wachusett Larry Imperial IPA is an example of the latter style, and a pretty good one at that. Plenty of hop presence here, but an equally strong maltiness, too. If you want a “well balanced” imperial IPA, this is it.


I poured a 12oz can into a goblet. It was canned on 8/8/14 and cost $2.99 ($0.25 per ounce).

Appearance: Opaque shade of burnt umber, some carbonation visible. Pours to a two-finger, off-white, frothy head which retains and laces very well.

Smell: Surprisingly sweet and malty with notes of caramel and vanilla. Citrus juice concentrate and dank resin aromas are also present, though mild overall.

Taste: Usually the first thing I notice about a beer like this is the hop presence, but in the case of Wachusett Larry Imperial IPA the sweet malt character jumped out at me. It’s quite rich with notes of caramel, butterscotch, and vanilla. Of course, the hops are quite prominent as well. However, they create for a sticky, syrupy sensation of dank bitterness, rather than juicy or fruity character. It’s more like orange juice concentrate than actual O.J. At 85 IBUs it is indeed quite bitter, but nothing extreme. It’s actually rather mild compared to some other, more popular examples of this style.

Drinkability: Weighing in at 8.5% ABV, it’s no surprise there’s a minor presence of alcohol. Thankfully, it accentuates the sweet malty notes by giving it a slightly rum-like flavor and keeps the body thick and chewy. The mouthfeel is in no way crisp – it hits the tongue with a thud and slowly oozes across while leaving a bitter, resiny aftertaste. Wachusett Larry Imperial IPA is practically a barleywine, and it should be handled as such. 
Grade: 8/10

Guess who’s hosting a beer dinner?

I’ve attended many beer dinners in recent years, but I’ve never played host… until now. On Tuesday, October 21st at 6pm I’ll be hosting a beer dinner at Uncle Marty’s Adirondack Grill in Averill Park. This place has always been an underrated destination by local beer geeks, which is surprising, because they have 26 beers on tap. Most of them are craft, and many are from New York State. They recently landed a new head chef, Dustin Aipperspach, who has given the menu a nice makeover. And what better way to show off his skills than by having a beer dinner (the first in a series, by the way).

Marty himself asked me to come up with a theme for the dinner and pick out the beers. The theme seemed obvious to me – all beers from the state of New York (hence the name “Taste of New York”). I’m not saying these are the absolute best beers New York has to offer, but they are all good ones that are accessible to drinkers of all experience levels. The breweries represented range in size from small startups to huge brewhouses with international distribution. I like these brews, and I’m sure those attending this dinner will too.

tasteofnybeerdinnermenuHere’s the menu:

Amuse Bouche
Upstate Brewing Common Sense Ale (5.3% ABV traditional ale)
Fire Roasted Chestnuts

Appetizer
Ommegang Witte (5.2% ABV witbier)
Grilled Elk Sausage, Aged Provolone Cheese,
Whole Grain Beer Mustard

Salad
Brooklyn 1/2 Ale (3.4% ABV saison)
Hudson Valley Duck Breast, Baby Arugula,
Toasted Almonds, Blueberries, Maple Vinaigrette

Risotto
Southern Tier 2XIPA (8.2% ABV double IPA)
Seared Diver Scallop, Butternut Squash Risotto,
Toasted Pumpkin Seeds, Parmesan

Entree
Chatham Porter (6% ABV)
Apple Smoked Beer Braised Hog Wings,
White Bean Cassoulet

Dessert
Rushing Duck Dog’s Bollocks (9.5% ABV barleywine)
Pumpkin Cheesecake, Sea Salted Caramel Sauce

Tickets are $58 per person, inclusive. You can purchase them through the restaurant or online here.
Uncle Marty’s Adirondack Grill is located at
2930 Rt 43
Averill Park, NY 12153
(518) 674-4080

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Keegan Ales Bine Climber Session IPA


3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1189) - Albany, New York, USA - OCT 1, 2014
I’ve drank enough session IPAs by now that I’m noticing a lot of specific flavor characteristics repeat between them. That’s not to say Keegan Ales Bine Climber Session IPA is in any way bad, just that everything that’s here has been done before. That’s okay, because the result is still a beer that’s plenty tasty and highly drinkable – isn’t that the point, anyway?


I poured a 12oz can into a goblet. It was canned on 8/1/14 and cost $2.60 ($0.22 per ounce).

Appearance: Pale yellow color with a hazy body, though some carbonation is visible. Pours to a two-finger, white, foamy head which laces and retains well.

Smell: Light citrus and some pine. A hint of spicy/herbal notes.

Taste: For a session IPA, this beer has a relatively large malt and hop bill (with four of each ingredient). Though the palette itself is not all that complex, it’s quite direct. A familiar taste of light grain and a hint of cracker-like wheat flavor. The hops start out initially quite dry and bitter, but eventually offer some real flavors – especially of lemon and a touch of pine. It finishes with a surprisingly sweet, honey-like flavor before washing away clean. It’s all enjoyable, though far from amazing. It gets the job done, though.

Drinkability: Weighing in at 4.7% ABV, Keegan Ales Bine Climber Session IPA is about average for this niche style, though just a tad overweight to truly make the “session beer” cut. It does drink and feel like a light beer, though. The mouthfeel is thin, but crisp like a lager. Refreshing while in the mouth and it goes down easily and leaves only a faint aftertaste of hops. I’m glad it comes in a can, as this is definitely the kind of beer whose portability factor would work in its favor. 
Grade: 7/10

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Green Wolf Ravens Black IPA


3.8
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1188) - Albany, New York, USA - SEP 30, 2014
It’s nice to see a startup brewery using a black IPA as one of their launch offerings. “Ravens” is only my second Green Wolf beer, but it’s much more than solid for the style. A heavy dose of sticky, dank hops and sweet chocolate plus some roasted malt on the end for that stout quality. I like it.

I poured a 22oz bottle into a tulip glass. There was no freshness date and it cost $7 ($0.32 per ounce).

Appearance: Jet black color (not surprisingly) with a small, chalky, foamy head which laces and retains pretty well.

Smell: Chocolate syrup and piney/floral hops.

Taste: When it comes to black IPAs, the best hops to use are the ones that create for pine and resin character. Green Wolf Ravens Black IPA mentions Chinook hops in the description, and they certainly are used well here. Right away there’s an intense, dank, bitter sensation of concentrated pine needles. This is quickly countered by a rich, sweet, confectionery-like flavor of milk chocolate, and topped off with the classic roasted malt taste found in a good stout. It’s almost chewy, and there’s a lingering, cloying bitter sensation – yet it’s quite pleasing. This is a Black IPA done right.

Drinkability: Depending on whom you ask, 7.5% ABV can either be huge or average when it comes to weight. In the case of Green Wolf Ravens Black IPA it leans more towards the average as the beer doesn’t seem to have quite the full body that it should. The mouthfeel is a little thin and under-carbonated. However, it does have a silky texture and easy finish – which makes it quite easy to drink. A few tweaks and this brew could be truly excellent (or better). 
Grade: 8/10

Monday, September 29, 2014

Jack's Abby Mass Rising


4
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
Chad9976 (1187) - Albany, New York, USA - SEP 29, 2014
Jack’s Abby has pretty much single-handedly invented a bunch of new beer styles. They only brew lagers, but in traditional ale styles. Mass Rising is their take on a Double IPA, which they, not surprisingly, dub as a “Double IPL.” It definitely does drink like a beer of the style, though. Huge hop flavor and bitterness using some of the most popular hop combinations of the day.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a tulip glass. It was bottled on 7/28/14 and cost $3.99 ($0.33 per ounce).

Appearance: Bright pale yellow hue. Extremely hazy, but spastic carbonation can be seen. Pours to a huge, Duvel-like, white fluffy head which retains and laces extremely well.

Smell: Huge spicy hop aroma with notes of garlic, onion and lemon rind.

Taste: I’m not sure which hops are in this beer, as they’re not listed on the label or the brewery’s website. To me, it tastes a lot like Sorachi Ave – huge spicy notes with distinct onion, garlic and lemon rind flavors. An interesting combination to be sure, but they definitely do work. Strong dry bitterness from beginning to end (especially on the end, I might add). The malty backbone is strong enough to support the palette, though it doesn’t add much towards the taste except for a slight stone wheat cracker-like flavor. It complements the hops well, which also leave a residual spice rack seasoning aftertaste. Definitely the kind of beer to pair with a savory meal.

Drinkability: Though quite hefty at 8% ABV, Jack’s Abby Mass Rising is actually quite lithe. Since it is a lager, it does have a crisp mouthfeel and a body that’s on the lighter side for its potency. It goes down smooth, but it’s better enjoyed in sips than gulps. No alcohol warmth or distraction, which makes it almost too easy to drink. 
Grade: 8/10

Sunday, September 28, 2014

Firestone Walker Oaktoberfest


3.6
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1186) - Albany, New York, USA - SEP 28, 2014
Despite the name, Firestone Walker Oaktoberfest is in no way oak-aged. It has something to do with the brewery’s city’s Spanish name. That’s kind of disappointing, because I know this brewery can do well with oak-aged beers, but what they have here is a pretty standard dark lager. Marketed as an Oktoberfest, it’s probably more accurately consider an amber or Vienna lager. It’s not bad, but it’s not especially unique.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a mug. It was bottled on 7/17/14 and cost $2.85 ($0.24 per ounce).

Appearance: Light amber/dark gold color on a clear body with persistent carbonation visible. Pours to a large, white, soapy head which retains and laces fairly well.

Smell: Pretty standard lager aroma, but with a slight floral characteristic.

Taste: Most Oktoberfest beers tend to be sweet and have nutty/confectionery character. This beer has a sweetness derived from lighter malts, so there’s more of a honey character than anything in the caramel or toffee range. Though spiced with German Hallertau hops, it seems to have a strong floral component to the taste. A lightly spicy and dry bitterness on the back end, with a mild residual starchy character on the finish and aftertaste. Otherwise, it has a generic lager composure, which makes it interesting, but not all that memorable.

Drinkability: With a crisp, clean body and medium mouthfeel, Firestone Walker Oaktoberfest is a breeze to drink. Slightly refreshing while in the mouth, though it does leave a slightly dry aftertaste. At only 5% ABV it’s a little big to be considered a session beer, though the palate is drinker-friendly enough to give it some versatility. Enjoy it with food or on its own. 
Grade: 7/10

Saturday, September 27, 2014

Brooklyn ½ (Half) Ale


4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
Chad9976 (1185) - Albany, New York, USA - SEP 27, 2014
American breweries have been trying to outdo each other with so-called session beers, though their definition of “session” tends to be rather loosely defined. At only 3.4% ABV, I don’t think there’s any doubt that Brooklyn ½ Ale meets the criteria for a session beer. Though what really sets it apart is that it’s not just another hopped-up pale ale, but a to-spec saison that has a feel of completeness and authenticity.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a tulip glass. A six-pack was $9.69 ($1.57 per bottle or $0.13 per ounce). It had a best before date of 2/20/15.

Appearance: Pale yellow hue over a hazy body. Some carbonation bubbles are visible after pouring, though they disappear eventually. Forms a large, white, soapy head which mostly dissipates, but does leave decent lacing on the glass.

Smell: Huge spicy hop aroma (most likely Sorachi Ace). Hints of lemon, peppercorn and various spices.

Taste: The palette starts off rather calm with a general light malty flavor, and then from out of nowhere a huge spicy hop sensation takes over. The hops and the saison yeast character complement each other perfectly. It’s a delectable combination of black pepper, lemon pith and a coriander-like spice. The beer is brewed with orange peel, which probably accounts for the citrus character (and perhaps the witbier-like spices, too). There’s almost a wet hop-like hop oily sensation as well (and I mean that as a compliment). How a beer so light in weight has such a well-rounded palette without tasting like beer-flavored water is beyond me. I hope more breweries will take this approach and make small brews with genuine flavor.

Drinkability: It probably could go without saying that at 3.4% ABV, Brooklyn ½ Ale is absolutely quaffable and sessionable. But it’s also genuinely refreshing and has actual body to it. The mouthfeel doesn’t feel paper-thin, though the carbonation is a tad low. This should be available in cans as it’d be perfect for the summer months and its related activities. I’d highly recommend pairing this with seafood or salad. 
Grade: 8/10

Friday, September 26, 2014

Full Sail Pilsner


3.7
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 14/20
Chad9976 (1184) - Albany, New York, USA - SEP 26, 2014
I’m all for experimentation in brewing, but sometimes all the eccentric recipes in the world can’t surpass a classic, traditional recipe. Case in point: Full Sail Pilsner, which is either a German or Czech pilsner at the core, but hopped with Cascade, which gives the beer a unique flavor (which I appreciate), but not necessarily a better taste than a to-spec recipe. Oh, it’s a good beer to be sure, but it doesn’t re-invent the style.

I poured a 12oz bottle into a footed pilsner glass. It had an expiration date of 12/23/14 and cost $2.60 ($0.22 per ounce).

Appearance: Pure golden hue over a clear body. Slow carbonation is easily seen. Pours to a two-finger, white, frothy head which retains and laces very well.

Smell: Strong grassy/herbal hop aroma with a hint of lemon. Not a traditional pilsner aroma.

Taste: All-malt pilsners have a distinct flavor to them, and that je na sais quois factor is definitely present in Full Sail Pilsner. Light malty character immediately, with a cracker-like taste, but not quite bready. The Cascade hops are the star of the show, though I would not consider this a particularly bitter beer. Not unlike the Noble Hop varieties, this one creates for a light spicy/zesty character, but in the form of grass and onion/garlic seasoning. A hint of mineral water is also noticeable and it complements the palette nicely. I enjoyed it, but I can’t help but think more could be done.

Drinkability: I was surprised to see the 6% ABV on the label, since pilsners tend to be light, sessionable brews by design. A stronger beer would likely be more complex and bold, but Full Sail Pilsner has the same intensity as any other beer of its ilk. The mouthfeel is thin and crisp with a refreshing quality while crossing the tongue, though it does leave a slightly bitter/starchy/spicy aftertaste. It’s tempting to throw back several of these, but considering the relatively high potency, I wouldn’t recommend it. 
Grade: 7/10

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Westbrook IPA


4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 16/20
Chad9976 (1183) - Albany, New York, USA - SEP 24, 2014

Westbrook is a brewery that has been blowing up in popularity in my area, and for good reason: everything they make is much better than solid. They seem to stick with classic styles, but they do them really well. Their IPA is no exception as it’s essentially a classic East Coast-style IPA with plenty of piney character, but has more flavor and a higher drinkability than your average brew of the style.


I poured a 12oz can into a goblet. It was canned on 8/19/14 and cost $3.30 ($0.28 per ounce).

Appearance: Hazy, translucent shade of peach flesh yellow/orange. Poured to a two-finger, eggshell, frothy head which retained and laced extremely well.

Smell: Strong hoppy aroma, especially of citrus, vanilla, and pine.

Taste: There’s plenty of hop character to this beer, from beginning to end. Up front there’s a light, citrusy flavor akin to tropical fruit juice. It’s actually rather sweet and for a moment, refreshing. Through the middle there’s additional sweetness; an almost confectionery flavor of vanilla or toffee. On the back end comes piney hops with some astringent resin character that’s complemented by the base malt very well. The can indicates a bitterness level of only 60 IBUs, and it certainly seems accurate, though the hops account as much for flavor as they do for bitterness. Plus, the base malt is strong enough to support this palette and keep it in check, so as not to simply be carbonated hop water. This is the kind of no frills/no gimmicks IPA I wish more breweries would make.

Drinkability: As enjoyable as the taste to Westbrook IPA is, what’s just as impressive is the raw drinkability. The mouthfeel is medium to full-bodied with a soft, smooth texture, but a heavy presence. It’s calm across the tongue, but the carbonation is strong enough so that the beer essentially scrubs itself clean. Slightly dry/pasty aftertaste, but it’s fine. At 6.8% ABV it begins to veer into imperial territory as the alcohol does seem to play a role in the palette as well as ON the palate. Though I doubt any beer drinker of at least an intermediate experience level will have any difficulty with this. 
Grade: 9/10